Lois Zabrocky, International Seaways, Inc., Canada, US Merchant Marine Academy and Port of Los Angeles Among 2019 NAMEPA Marine Environment Protection Awards Recipients

Global Maritime Forum, Ocean Clean Up, International Seafarers Ministry and US Representatives Don Young and Susan Bonamici also recognized

(September 11, 2019) Joseph Hughes, Chairman of the North American Marine Environment Protection Association (NAMEPA), announced that International Seaways, Inc., and its President and CEO Lois Zabrocky, are among the nine recipients of NAMEPA’s 2019 Marine Environment Protection Awards for the Marine Industry and Marine Individual Awards, respectively. Other recipients are: The Canadian Department of Fisheries and Oceans & Transport Canada, U.S. Representatives Don Young (R-AK) and Susan Bonamici (D-OR), the Port of Los Angeles, the United States Merchant Marine Academy, Global Maritime Forum, Ocean Clean Up and the International Seafarers Ministry.

The awards will be presented at NAMEPA’s Awards Dinner to be held on October 24th aboard the Hornblower Infinity in New York City. The dinner caps the afternoon NAMEPA Annual Conference, which will focus on the demands of decarbonization in the maritime industry.

“This year’s field of nominees was one of the most difficult due to the many efforts that are being understaken to “Save our Seas”, declared Carleen Lyden Walker, Co-Founder/Executive Director of NAMEPA. “We are delighted by the outcome, which showcases the range of talent and activities which are being pursued to protect the marine environment.”

The NAMEPA Marine Environment Protection Award is given in recognition of an individual or organization’s efforts in environmental stewardship as exemplified by a commitment to a program which has specific objectives set for environmental performance and improvement, and which is innovative and goes beyond minimum environmental compliance.

Eligible candidates include members of the commercial maritime industry, government agencies, educational organizations, innovation providers, port, associations and individuals. Submissions are judged by the organization’s Board of Directors against the criteria behind the award. A new award this year is the Congressional Award, which is being given to Congressional leaders Don Young (R-AK) and Susam Bonamici (D-OR) for their work on the Save our Seas Act 2.0.

The first NAMEPA Marine Environment Protection Award was presented 11 years ago posthumously to the founder of the MEPA movement, George P. Livanos who created HELMEPA over 30 years ago due to his interest and concern for the marine environment. Since then, award recipients have included Maersk, Euronav, USCG, CLIA, Teekay, BSEE, Joe Cox, Joan Bondareff, the Port of Montreal, the American Salvage Association, Maritime Academy of Toledo, Jack Gallagher, RCCL, Massachusetts Maritime Academy, MARAD, Scorpio, Harley Marine Services, Seafarers International Houste, Ocean Conservancy, Clay Maitland and Fednav.

The NAMEPA Awards Dinner will follow the NAMEPA annual conference featuring RDML Richard Timme, Assistant Commandant for Prevention Policy. The theme for the conference is “Facing the Decade of Decarbonization”. One of the highlights of the conference is a leadership panel composed of the award winners.

Tables for the NAMEPA Awards dinner, and tickets for the conference, may be obtained by going to NAMEPA Annual Conference and Awards Dinner or by calling +203 255 4686. Admittance is by reservation only and is limited.

The North American Marine Environment Protection Association (NAMEPA) was officially launched in 2007. NAMEPA is a marine industry-led organization of environmental stewards preserving the marine environment by promoting sustainable marine industry best practices and educating seafarers, students and the public about the need and strategies for protecting global ocean, lake and river resources. For more information, go to www.namepa.net.

Media inquiries: Michele Ferguson, +203 255 46868 or m.ferguson@morganmarketcomm.com

Scroll to Top