2018 Annual Conference and Awards Dinner Recap

NAMEPA dedicated this year’s annual conference to “The New CSR: Ethical, Strategic, Sustainable” which underscores how Corporate Social Responsibility can benefit companies and the industry at large. Our speakers shared expectations and strategies for meeting the myriad of demands in today’s maritime environment.

Following the conference was the NAMEPA Annual Awards Reception and Dinner which recognized the achievements of individuals and corporations who “Save Our Seas”.

See below for links to presentations and event photos plus a list of our award winners.


Click on hyperlinks to download presentations

Opening and welcome: Ole Chr. Schroder, Vice Chairman, NAMEPA; Director of Environmental Compliance, Scorpio Group

Industry Overview - 

Ethical – 

Moderator: Kevin Humphreys, General Manager of Sales – Merchant & Gas Carrier Segment, Wärtsilä

  • What are SDGs and why? Maher Nasser, Director of the Outreach Division, United Nations Department of Public Information
  • Corporate Social Intrapreneurship: Nancy McGaw, Deputy Director of Business and Society Program, The Aspen Institute 
  • Shipping’s Responsibility to the Mariner: Yuki Yu, Director of Asian Market, Future Care

Strategic – 

Moderator: Tim Williamson, General Manager, Donjon-SMIT 

  • Aligning with company values: Jan-Willem van den Dijssel, Americas Lead Ocean Transportation, Cargill Inc.
  • Informing your constituency: Megan King, SVP Strategic Communications & Research, Cruise Line International Association
  • Creating corporate value: Michael Webber, Senior Equity Analyst Global Shipping & LNG, Wells Fargo
  • Putting your best foot forward: Jeff Pribor, Chief Financial Officer, International Seaways

Sustainable – Leadership Roundtable

Moderator:  Cynthia Hudson, CEO, HudsonAnalytix

Featuring winning leadership of the 2018 NAMEPA Marine Environment Protection Awards

  • Daniel Dagenais, Vice-President of Operations, Montreal Port Authority
  • Jeff BenoitPresident & CEO, Restore America’s Estuaries
  • Dr. Fritz Pinnock, President, Caribbean Maritime University
  • Joan Bondareff, Counsel, Blank Rome
  • Rev. Marsh Luther Drege, Executive Director, Seafarer’s International House
  • Valerie Cannon, Environmental Regulatory Manager, Total Marine Solutions

Introducing NAMEPA CSR Program

Carleen Lyden Walker, Co-Founder/Executive Director, NAMEPA

2018 Video Highlights

2018 NAMEPA Marine Environment Protection Award Winners

Maritime Industry- Euronav

Government- US Coast Guard

Non-Profit- Restore America's Estuaries

Individual- Joan M. Bondareff

Maritime Education- Caribbean Maritime University

Environmental Innovation- Total Marine Solutions' Ocean Guardian

Seafarers Ministry- Seafarers International House

Port- Montreal Port Authority


Our Sponsors

Scroll to Top